hotrodhell

Loving Life Seeing Good Days and great relationships

In Apologetics, Chrisitian, Christ, Christian, Christianity, Prayer, Satan, Saved, Sin, Trinity on September 25, 2010 at 5:26 pm

Loving Life and Seeing Good Days

1st Peter 3

Focus on 1st Peter 3:14-17

(1Pe 3:14 AMP)  But even in case you should suffer for the sake of righteousness, [you are] blessed (happy, to be envied). Do not dread or be afraid of their threats, nor be disturbed [by their opposition].

(1Pe 3:15 AMP)  But in your hearts set Christ apart as holy [and acknowledge Him] as Lord. Always be ready to give a logical defense to anyone who asks you to account for the hope that is in you, but do it courteously and respectfully. [Isa. 8:12, 13.]

(1Pe 3:16 AMP)  [And see to it that] your conscience is entirely clear (unimpaired), so that, when you are falsely accused as evildoers, those who threaten you abusively and revile your right behavior in Christ may come to be ashamed [of slandering your good lives].

(1Pe 3:17 AMP)  For [it is] better to suffer [unjustly] for doing right, if that should be God’s will, than to suffer [justly] for doing wrong.

The scriptures reveal a Christ in torment in the garden prior to His amazing, phenomenal, submissive, wonderful, terrible, ordeal called Calvary. Hs is praying so deeply that blood literally came through his pores like drops of sweat. Hematidrosis (also called hematohidrosis) is a very rare condition in which a human being sweats blood. It may occur when a person is suffering extreme levels of stress, such as, facing his or her own death.[1] Several historical references have been described; notably by Leonardo da Vinci: describing a soldier who sweated blood before battle, men unexpectedly given a death sentence, as well as descriptions in the Bible, that Jesus experienced hematidrosis when he was praying in the garden of Gethsemane (Luke 22:44).

(Luk 22:44 ESV)  And being in an agony he prayed more earnestly; and his sweat became like great drops of blood falling down to the ground.

Christ suffered several terrible losses in this transaction between: Christ the Son and the desolation from the Father, the burden of guilt and sin placed on Him undeservedly, the punishment He was about to endure on our behalf’s.

1. Christ the Son and desolation from the Father:

(Joh 17:1-9 ESV)  When Jesus had spoken these words, he lifted up his eyes to heaven, and said, “Father, the hour has come; glorify your Son that the Son may glorify you, since you have given him authority over all flesh, to give eternal life to all whom you have given him. And this is eternal life, that they know you the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom you have sent. I glorified you on earth, having accomplished the work that you gave me to do. And now, Father, glorify me in your own presence with the glory that I had with you before the world existed.

“I have manifested your name to the people whom you gave me out of the world. Yours they were, and you gave them to me, and they have kept your word. Now they know that everything that you have given me is from you. For I have given them the words that you gave me, and they have received them and have come to know in truth that I came from you; and they have believed that you sent me. I am praying for them. I am not praying for the world but for those whom you have given me, for they are yours.

(Joh 17:22-26 ESV)  The glory that you have given me I have given to them, that they may be one even as we are one, I in them and you in me, that they may become perfectly one, so that the world may know that you sent me and loved them even as you loved me. Father, I desire that they also, whom you have given me, may be with me where I am, to see my glory that you have given me because you loved me before the foundation of the world. O righteous Father, even though the world does not know you, I know you, and these know that you have sent me. I made known to them your name, and I will continue to make it known, that the love with which you have loved me may be in them, and I in them.”

2. the burden of guilt and sin placed on Him undeservedly :

(Joh 1:29 ESV)  The next day he saw Jesus coming toward him, and said, “Behold, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world!

(Act 8:32-33 ESV)  Now the passage of the Scripture that he was reading was this: “Like a sheep he was led to the slaughter and like a lamb before its shearer is silent, so he opens not his mouth. In his humiliation justice was denied him. Who can describe his generation? For his life is taken away from the earth.”

(Heb 9:25-27 ESV)  Nor was it to offer himself repeatedly, as the high priest enters the holy places every year with blood not his own, for then he would have had to suffer repeatedly since the foundation of the world. But as it is, he has appeared once for all at the end of the ages to put away sin by the sacrifice of himself.  And just as it is appointed for man to die once, and after that comes judgment,

Judas acknowledges he has condemned the innocent (Mat 27:4 ESV)  saying, “I have sinned by betraying innocent blood.” They said, “What is that to us? See to it yourself.”

3.   the punishment He was about to endure on our behalf’s.

(Mat 27:25-26 ESV)  And all the people answered, “His blood be on us and on our children!”

Then he released for them Barabbas, and having scourged Jesus, delivered him to be crucified.

(Psa 22:1118 ESV)  Be not far from me, for trouble is near, and there is none to help. Many bulls encompass me; strong bulls of Bashan surround me; they open wide their mouths at me, like a ravening and roaring lion. I am poured out like water, and all my bones are out of joint; my heart is like wax; it is melted within my breast; my strength is dried up like a potsherd, and my tongue sticks to my jaws; you lay me in the dust of death. For dogs encompass me; a company of evildoers encircles me; they have pierced my hands and feet–  I can count all my bones– they stare and gloat over me; they divide my garments among them, and for my clothing they cast lots.

We have an example to follow in every relationship no matter what the relationship: government, ruler, employer, employee, believer, parents, and spouse. The ideal is all can live together and be of one mind. Most people especially in the modern age do what is right in their own eyes. Jesus gave us the pattern of how to do what is right in His Father’s eyes. Remember within the Trinity they had perfect relationship, and love is expressed in the unity, diversity, and community of the Trinity. Without a Triune God there can be no love, only will and power. We are given an example of that love when Jesus cries out in Matthew “My God, My God, why have You forsaken Me?” this was the first time in eternity past this has happened. The pain from the Cross was from the broken fellowship of the Father from the Son because of our sin debt.

Deserted! God could separate from His own essence rather;

And Adam’s sins have swept between the righteous Son and Father:
Yea, once, Immanuel’s orphaned cry His universe hath shaken—
It went up single, echoless, “My God, I am forsaken!”

Elizabeth Barrett Browning

The loud cry demonstrates that He died in strength, not in weakness. The fact that He yielded up His spirit distinguished His death from all others. We die because we have to; He died because He chose to. Had He not said, “I lay down My life that I may take it again. No one takes it from Me, but I lay it down of Myself. I have power to lay it down, and I have power to take it again” (Joh_10:17-18)?

No matter how difficult, impossible, your situation seems, no matter how bad the relationship has gotten (outside of violence or obvious physical danger). Submit and do what is right even if you know you will suffer for it. God will provide what you need to endure. Keep constantly, continually, consistently, entrusting yourself and your situation to Him, remembering that at times it will look like there is no justice in what is going on, no truth in what is being said, or no life left in the situation. Remember that God is a righteous judge, has the final word, and is able to bring life out of death, for His praise and glory and honor.

Leave a Reply

