hotrodhell

Recognizing the Holy Spirit in our lives

In Apologetics, Christ, Christian, Christianity, Prayer, Satan, Saved on February 21, 2009 at 8:49 pm

Recognizing the Holy Spirit in our lives

(Rom 8:14)  For all who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God.

 

(Rom 8:15)  For you did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption as sons, by whom we cry, “Abba! Father!”

 

(Rom 8:16)  The Spirit himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God,

 

(Rom 8:17)  and if children, then heirs–heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ, provided we suffer with him in order that we may also be glorified with him.

 

Five basics of recognizing the Holy Spirit in our lives sort of a check list on unction (bible word meaning real or pretended earnestness or fervor, especially with regard to spiritual matters) of how I know that I am filled with the Holy Spirit.

 

1. Is God leading me?  First Romans 8:14 declares that “all who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God.” By his Spirit God sovereignty directs and works in our lives, leading us by his Spirit. We live with a miraculous God who supernaturally intervenes in our lives. Examples of crossing paths with people unexpectedly who are seeking answers for their troubles lives. Having words put in our months that we typically not express ourselves with. Making a decision that has long term consequences and they often reflect God at work through us.

2. Is God giving me confidence? Romans 8:15 tells we did receive an attitude of slavery that leads us to fear.  What is confidence?  Webster defines it as a feeling or consciousness of one’s powers or of reliance on one’s circumstances <had perfect confidence in her ability to succeed> <met the risk with brash confidence> b: faith or belief that one will act in a right, proper, or effective way <have confidence in a leader> People who don’t know the Lord and unfortunately some who claim too often find they slaves to fear. For example in our current financial crisis the fear of losing everything they have saved, fear of the future, fear that seems to dominate their lives and direst their actions. But when the Spirit of God comes to dwell with you he displaces that fear and fills you confidence in his ability and your faithfulness.

3. Am I growing in Intimacy with God?  Romans 8:15 goes in describing our adoption as sons and as children of an all knowing, ever present, all powerful God we are his. We have been adopted and this has special meaning in culture of Jesus’ day in that we can never be disowned. According to Jewish law a son born to a family could be disowned by not an adopted son. This allows for an intimacy with God unknown in any other religion ever. This has to beg the question am I being as good a friend to God as he has been to me? I know your answer must be like mine unfortunately no sadly no and gratefully he is still my friend. To be filled with his Spirit he gives us a desire to pursue a growing intimacy and hunger for him. The more I know him the more I want to know him. I truly want to want what he wants me to want.   

4. Do I feel secure in Christ? People especially when thing happen in our lives that we consider painful tend to ask if they have experienced salvation and are they really a child of God? Romans 8:16 it is a ministry of God to confirm to you the reality of your relationship in God’s family. We may have un-confessed sin in our lives that causes us to ignore the Spirit but that doesn’t mean God moved it means you did. When I was a child and I misbehaved in my home I often tried to hide my bad behavior by staying away from my parents and hiding out in my room. Eventually the truth came out the issue was dealt with and the relationship was restored. In that moment of misbehavior my parents didn’t love me any less actually they exercised greater love by correcting me. The Spirit of God is the same way when we come to grips with our sin and confess it to the Lord in prayer we have that renewed since of relationship and security.

5. Do I draw my identity from Christ?  Romans 8:17 says we are heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ. I am a blood bought child of the everlasting God who loves me here and now and in eternity. I don’t have to earn the Holy Spirit’s filling; I just have to be willing and ask. God wants to fill us with his presence every day all day long, over and over again that’s real identity in the family of God.

 

We can hurt our Heavenly Father in several ways but a couple of major issues arise when we grieve or quench the Holy Spirit. In those times in my life I truly experience the terrible wind as the Holy Spirit is translated from the Greek. Let’s take a look quickly at both.

First Grieving the Holy Spirit when we do things he doesn’t want us to do anymore. Grieving the Holy Spirit literally means “to cause pain or sorrow “many things fall into this category but Ephesians targets one primary way we grieve the Holy Spirit.

(Eph 4:29-30)  Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear. And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, by whom you were sealed for the day of redemption.

 

What do I need to live without in my life in order to avoid grieving the Holy Spirit?

 

Second quenching the Holy Spirit means we don’t do what the Holy Spirit wants us to do. Quench means to snuff out, douse, cool down, and trim back. To quench his Spirit is to snuff out his intended result. The other problem with this behavior we tend to get hard of hearing and eventually we can doubt our relationship with him at all. I have been told all my life God never shouts we just let the noise of life drown out his conversation. Paul in Thessalonians speaks this as well.

 

(1Th 5:19)  Do not quench the Spirit.

 

Are spending more time trying to ignore God than to listen to him?

 

Are we letting the noise of life drown out the whisper of direction from God?

 

Remember when we can’t hear or feel God’s presence maybe we moved I know he didn’t. We need to deal with these areas in our lives constantly and aggressively or we will be in a barren wasteland of desperate loneliness.

 

If you recognize the need to be filled again and again with the Holy Spirit these 3 simple steps will get you started.

 

 

1.      Repent of All Know Sin

Keep in mind we cannot fool God, living a carnal life because we won’t let go of something is keeping you from experiencing the fullness of his friendship.

 

(Psa 139:23)  Search me, O God, and know my heart! Try me and know my thoughts!

 

(Psa 139:24)  And see if there be any grievous way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting!

 

2.      Ask God to Fill You

Once the issue of sin had been dealt with and all know sin has been repented of. We now have a clear conscience and a soft heart and a willingness to listen. Ask God to come and fill you, control you and be prepared to experience him personally. There is no requirement for this to take place in church; you can experience him anywhere anytime.

 

(Mat 7:11)  If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask him!

 

3.      Believe That he is Filling You

Refuse to doubt, don’t accept unbelief, and don’t pay attention to the deceiver (Satan). Believe that God’s spirit has filled you, is filling you and will fill you again and again.

 

(Joh 14:13)  Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.

 

(Mat 9:29)  Then he touched their eyes, saying, “According to your faith be it done to you.”

 

A prayer from downpour: Holy spirit of God, thank You for filling my life with you. You are in control of all that I am-my thoughts, my actions, my words, and my feelings. Thank yo Spirit of God!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

